All Seminaries In Anambra State

Seminary is a special school providing education in theology and other religious studies, primarily set out to prepare students or candidates for priesthood or roles of clergy.

seminaries in anambra state

Seminaries are categorized into minor and major seminaries. Minor seminaries are junior seminaries where secondary education is imparted with other religious studies while major seminaries are regarded as senior Seminary and offer post-secondary education.

Specifically, in major seminaries, degrees in courses such as philosophy and theology are obtained.

In Nigeria, both Catholic and Anglican church run and operate seminaries for the purpose of producing priests for their various denominations.

In this article, we will be discussing  full list of all seminaries in Anambra State. Both Catholic and Anglican seminaries will be highlighted.

Seminaries In Onitsha Catholic Archdiocese

All Hallows Seminary, Onitsha

All Hallows Seminary located at Onitsha is one of the pioneer seminaries in eastern Nigeria. It is a minor Seminary instituted for training of diocesan clergy.

It offers secondary school education among other religious studies. The Seminary was founded in 1924 by Bishop Joseph Shanahan with Rev. Fr. William O’Donnel as the first Rector.

All Hallows Seminary is located at popular Limca Road Nkpor.

Blessed Iwene Tansi Major Catholic Seminary Onitsha

Blessed Iwene Tansi Major Seminary, Onitsha is a major Seminary where theology is taught to candidates for Catholic priesthood.

It is located very close to All Hallows minor Seminary. It admits students and candidates who have obtained a minimum of degree in philosophy.

It is one of the major theological Seminary in Anambra State and covers Onitsha Archdiocese, Nnewi, Awka and Ekwulobia dioceses.

Seminaries In Awka/Ekwulobia Catholic Diocese

The newly created Ekwulobia diocese used to be part of Awka diocese. So, they currently share and use same seminaries with Awka diocese. Seminaries in these two dioceses are.

St. Dominic Savio Seminary, Akpu

St. Dominic Savio Seminary Akpu is a minor Seminary situated at, Akpu town in Orumba North LGA, Anambra State.

Currently, the Seminary can be said to be within the territory of Ekwulobia diocese, however, the Seminary still serve both Awka and Ekwulobia dioceses.

The minor Seminary apart from religious studies, also offer junior secondary school education.

St. John Bosco Seminary, Isuaniocha

St. John Bosco Seminary, Isuaniocha is a minor Seminary located in Isuaniocha town in Awka North LGA.

The Seminary offer senior secondary school education with other Catholic religious studies. It is a seminary within the control of Awka catholic diocese.

Pope John Paul II Major Seminary, Awka

Pope John Paul II Major Seminary, Awka started as a campus of Biggard memorial seminary Enugu.

In 2012, it became a full and independent major seminary offering catholic religious studies and philosophy degree. It is located at Okpuno town, in Awka south LGA.

Seminaries In Nnewi Catholic Diocese

St. Paul Seminary Ukpor

St. Paul Seminary Ukpor is a minor seminary owned by catholic diocese of Nnewi. It is located at Ukpor town in Nnewi south LGA, Anambra State.

The Seminary offers Catholic religious studies alongside Secondary school education.

Holy Ghost Juniorate Ihiala

Holy Ghost Juniorate, Ihiala is a catholic Seminary owned by catholic congregation of Holy Ghost.

The Seminary offer catholic religious studies alongside Secondary school education. It is in Ihiala town, Anambra State.

Seminaries In Anglican Diocese of Awka

Anglican Seminaries owned by Anglican diocese of Awka is listed below.

Bishop Crowder Seminary Awka

Bishop Crowther Seminary is an institution owned and run by the Anglican Diocese of Awka. It was founded in 1979 by the Diocese on the Niger as Bishop Crowther Junior Seminary.

In 1996, it was re-named Bishop Crowther Seminary. The Seminary offer Anglican religious studies with secondary school education.

Seminary In Ekwulobia Anglican Diocese

The following Anglican seminaries can be found at Ekwulobia Anglican diocese.

Archbishop Christian Efobi Seminary, Ekwulobia

Archbishop Christian Efobi Seminary, formally All Saints’ Seminary, Ekwulobia is an all boys’ school located in Ekwulobia, Aguata Local Government Area of Anambra State Nigeria.

The Seminary was founded in the year 2008. It is an all-boys boarding school. The Seminary offer Anglican religious studies with secondary school education. It is located at Orlu-Ekwulobia road Ekwulobia.

Seminaries In Anglican Diocese of Onitsha

Having ceded its former Bishop Crowder Seminary to Anglican Diocese of Awka, Onitsha Anglican diocese has established a new Seminary within its territory.

St. Christopher Junior Seminary, Onitsha

St Christopher junior Seminary 3-3 Onitsha is a Seminary owned by Anglican diocese of Onitsha.

It was established in 1996 and offer secondary school education with other Anglican religious studies. It is an all-boys boarding school.


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *