List of States in South-West Nigeria

Which States Are in Southwest Nigeria?

This post is a review of full list of southwest states in Nigeria.

Nigeria is segment along geo-political zones and the country has six (6) geo-political zones of which southwest is one of them.

Oftentimes, some Nigerians especially those living outside southwest Nigeria are at lost as to which states are in Southwest Nigeria.

This is what necessitated this article on the full list of all states that make up Southwest Nigeria.

All states in Southwest Nigeria are predominantly Yourba states, however indigenous Yourbas can also be found outside the southwest states in Nigeria like Kwara state and Kogi state.

Number of States in Southwest Nigeria

The number of state that make up the southwest geo-political zone is six (6) in numbers. These southwest state are

  • Ekiti State
  • Lagos State
  • Ogun State
  • Ondo State
  • Osun State
  • Oyo State

These are states located in southwest geo political zone of Nigeria. Below is the brief profile of each state in southwest Nigeria.

Ekiti State

Ekiti State is one of the six (6) states in southwest Nigeria popularly known as fountain of knowledge.

Ekiti State has sixteen (16) local government areas and was created out of Ondo state in the year 1996.

Ekiti State is boardered to the south by Ondo state, north by Kwara state, east by Kogi state and to the west by Osun state.

These are states that shares boarders with Ekiti state. The capital of Ekiti state is Ado Ekiti which houses the seat of Ekiti state government.

The major occupation of Ekiti people is agriculture. Cash crops such as cocoa, timber, plantain are grown in the state.

Tourist Centers in Ekiti State

The following are some of the biggest and most popular tourism sites in Ekiti state:

  • Erin Ayonigba Sacred Fish River
  • Egbigbu Artificial Lake, Ayetoro-Ekiti
  • Oroke Ewo War Centre: It is a preserved place of battle between warriors from Ilorin
  • Ikogosi Warm Spring, Ikogosi: It is a confluence of both warm and cold spring from two different hills
  • Esa Cave, Iyin-Ekiti: The cave is believed to have been a safe haven for the people of the town during the wars in Yoruba land

Lagos State

Lagos state is the most popular state in southwest Nigeria.

It is the biggest commercial city in Nigeria. Lagos state, though a Yourbas state is a confluence of people from all parts of Nigeria.

The former capital of Nigeria was created on 27th of May 1967.

Lagos state has 20 local government areas and has Ikeja as it’s capital which is where the seat of Lagos state government is located.

The population of Lagos is above 20 million inhabitants which makes it the most populous state in Nigeria.

It is also one of the few states on coastal line in Nigeria.

Tourists Centres in Lagos

The following are the best and biggest tourism sites in Lagos.

  • National Museum Lagos
  • National Arts Theatre
  • Badagry Black Heritage Museum
  • The Freedom Park
  • Lacampagne Tropicana Beach Resort

These are biggest tourism sites in Lagos, Nigeria.

Ogun State

Ogun state was created in the year 1976 and is among the states is southwest Nigeria.

The state is fondly referred to as gateway state. The capital of Ogun state is Abeokuta which is where the seat of Ogun state government is located.

Ogun state has about 20 local government areas and is one of the major agrarian states in Nigeria.

Cash corps that is grown at Ogun state includes: Cocoa, cotton, millet, rubber,timber etc.

Ogun state is predominantly Yourba speaking state in Nigeria. The following states shares boarders with Ogun state: Ondo, Oyo, Osun and Lagos.

Also, Benin Republic shares boarders with Ogun state to the west.

Tourists Centers in Ogun State

The following are the biggest and most popular tourism sites in Ogun state, Nigeria.

  • Olumo Rock in Abeokuta
  • St. Peters Cathedral: The first church building built in Nigeria by British missionaries
  • Iwopin Boat Regatta
  • Yemoji Natural Swimming Pool in Ijebu-Ode
  • Lisabi Sacred Forest
  • Bilikisu Sungbo Shrine in Oke-Eri
  • Ebute-Oni in Ogun Waterside

Ondo State

Ondo state which is also known as Sunshine state is another southwest state in Nigeria.

The state is predominantly Yourba state. It is one of the oil producing states in Nigeria.

Ondo state is very rich in agriculture with the cultivation of cash crops like cocoa, timber, rubber and cotton in the state.

Also, Ondo state is rich in cultivation of Plantain and Bananas.

The capital of Ondo state is Akure and the state has 19 local government areas.

Tourists Centers in Ondo State

The following tourism sites in Ondo state are considered the biggest tourism centers in Ondo state.

  • Ebomi Lake Tourist Centre, Igbokoda Waterfront
  • Idanre Hills
  • Owo Museum of Antiques
  • Cave Ashes, Isharun
  • Igbo Olodumare

Osun State

Osun state is in the list of all states in southwest Nigeria.

Osun state is also predominantly Yourba speaking state in Nigeria.

It is one of the biggest Yoruba states in Nigeria. The capital of Osun state is Osogbo.

Osun state was created out of Oyo state in 1991 and it’s capital is one of the ancient cities in Yoruba land.

The state is also known for its agricultural produce such as cocoa, cotton, rubber etc.

Osun state has 30 local government areas and is boardered by Ondo, Oyo, Kwara and Ogun.

These are state that shares boarders with Osun state in Nigeria.

Tourists Centers in Osun State

The following are some of the biggest and most popular tourism sites in Osun state.

  • Ooni’s Palace Enuwa
  • Oluminrin Waterfalls, Erin-Ijesha
  • Suzanne Wenger’s House and Centre
  • Ife Museum, Enuwa Square
  • Nike Centre for Arts & Culture

Oyo State

Oyo state completes our list of states in southwest Nigeria. Oyo state is one of the biggest and oldest states in Nigeria.

The capital of Oyo state is Ibadan which is host community to one of the biggest university in Nigeria the University of Ibadan (UI).

The state is fondly called the pace setter state and has 33 local government areas. It is one of the core Yourba states in Nigeria.

Tourists Centers in Oyo State

Here are the major tourism sites in Oyo state.

  • Cocoa House: The first skyscraper built in Africa
  • The National Museum of Unity
  • Old Oyo National Park
  • Zoological and Botanical Gardens, University of Ibadan
  • Agodi Gardens


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *