List Of Universities & Tertiary Institutions In Anambra State (2024)

Anambra State, a state in southeast geo-political zone of Nigeria has a handful number of universities and higher institutions domiciled in the state.

tertiary institutions in anambra state

Alongside universities, there exists other institutions of higher learning like polytechnics and colleges education located in the state.

The essence of this article is purely for informational purposes and not a rank on the higher institutions.

Often, people want to have their tertiary education in a state, even as parents do also from time to time prefer having their wards attend tertiary education in a particular state.

It could be their state of origin or a state considered safer and conducive for academic activities.

In this post, Nigerian Informer will profile all the tertiary institutions that can be found at Anambra State.

Tertiary Institutions In Anambra State

Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka is a federal government owned university located at the capital of Anambra State, Awka.

The university is one of the top ten best federal universities in Nigeria. The university operates three campuses of Awka, Agulu and Nnewi.

The university teaching hospital is situated at commercial Town of Nnewi. Agulu campus of the university is home of the university’s pharmaceutical sciences.

The Nnewi campus of the university is home for medical science courses and students.

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (formerly, Anambra State University)

Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli is University owned by Anambra State government.

The university is located at Uli, boarder town between Anambra and Imo states. The university operates three campuses of Uli, Igbariam and Awka.

The university arts, agriculture, social and management sciences faculties are located at Igbariam campus, while Awka campus is for the university medical sciences.

Uli campus is home for engineering, environmental and natural sciences.

Tansian University Umunya

Tansian University is a private owned Christian university located at Umunya. A town few miles away from commercial city of Onitsha.

It was founded by Rev Msgr Prof John Bosco Akam. The university has one major campus which is the Umunya campus.

Madonna University Okija

Madonna University is a Christian owned university located at Okija Town. The university is owned by a very popular catholic priest, Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Ede.

The university operates two campuses of Okija and Elele. Elele campus of the university is home for science courses while Okija is campus for Arts, law, social and management sciences.

Paul University Awka

Paul University Awka is a Christian owned university founded in 2009 by Bishops of the five ecclesiastical provinces of the Anglican Church East of the Niger to provide undergraduate training in Natural and Applied Sciences, Social Sciences and Management.

The university is also known as UNIPAUL. The university now operates one major campus located at No.1 Nnamdi Azikiwe Ave, Awka, after moving some of its faculties out of St. Paul University Secondary School, Nise.

Federal Polytechnic Oko

Federal Polytechnic Oko is a federal government owned polytechnic located in Anambra State.

The institution has three main campuses located at Oko, Ufuma and Atani. Fed Poly Oko is the only major polytechnic in Anambra State.

Nwafor Orizu College Of Education Nsugbe (NOCEN)

Nwafor Orizu College of Education is Anambra State owned college of education situated at Nsugbe.

The institution is one of the oldest and highly respected tertiary institutions in the state.

The institution also run education degree programs as they are affiliated to University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

Federal College of Education (Technical) Umunze

Federal College of Education (Technical) Umunze is a Nigerian federal government established college of education.

The institution also awards degrees in education as they are affiliated to Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.


We failed to acknowledge the proclaimed and upgraded Anambra State Polytechnic Mgbakwu because of its accreditation status.

Since the governor of Anambra State upgraded the institution from college of agriculture to polytechnic, there is very little to suggest that the new status will be upheld.

The institution is also yet to list in UMTE as polytechnic. On October 12th, 2019, students of the polytechnic protested over non accreditation of the institution, three years after its upgrade to polytechnic status.


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *