Nigerian Universities Offering Mass Communication (2023)

Nigeria University Commission (NUC) is planning to unbundle mass communication into seven (7) independent disciplines.

universities offering mass communication in bigeria

The reason is because of broad nature of mass communication which makes it near impossible to be adequately studied as a single course.

When the decision comes into full effect, what will be obtained in our tertiary institutions will be faculty of mass communication rather than department of mass communication.

Mass communication is one of most sought-after art courses in Nigerian universities. It is also an exciting course to major in.

In this post, Nigerian Informer will be listed Nigerian universities that offer degrees in mass communication.

However, before we present the university list, it is imperative that we give the prerequisite for admission into university for degree in mass communication in Nigeria.

Admission Requirements Into Nigerian Universities For Studying Mass Communication.

Just like every other course offered in Nigeria universities, some specific conditions must be met before one can be offered admission to pursue for a degree in mass communication.

Firstly, the candidate must have sat and successfully obtained O’ level certificate. He or She must have obtained at least five (5) credits including English, mathematics, literature in English and any other two art subjects.

Candidates are also expected to have sat for Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) exams and obtained a stipulated score range as demanded by university of choice.

List Of Universities Offering Mass Communication In Nigeria

• Abia State University

• Adekunle Ajasin University

• Ahmadu Bello University

• Ajayi Crowther University

• Akwa Ibom State University

• Al-Hikmah University

• American University of Nigeria

• Babcock University

• Bayero University Kano

• Benson Idahosa University

• Benue State University

• Bingham University

• Bowen University

• Caleb University

• Caritas University

• Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu,University

• Covenant University

• Cross River State University of Technology

• Delta State University

• Ebonyi State University

• Elizade University

• Enugu State University of Science and Technology

• Fountain University

• Godfrey Okoye University

• Gregory University, Uturu

• Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University

• Igbinedion University

• Imo State University

• Institute of Management Technology, Enugu

• Joseph Ayo Babalola University

• Kaduna State university

• kogi State University

• Kwara State University

• Lagos State University

• Madonna University

• Nasarawa State University

• National Open University of Nigeria

• Nnamdi Azikiwe University

• Oduduwa University

• Olabisi Onabanjo University

• Pan-Atlantic University

• Plateau State University

• Redeemer’s University

• Rhema University

• Rivers State University of Science and Technology

• Samuel Adegboyega University

• SouthWestern University

• Tansian University

• Taraba State University

• University of Benin

• University of Ilorin

• University of Jos

• University of Lagos

• University of Maiduguri

• University of Mkar

• University of Nigeria

• University of Uyo

• Wellspring University

• Wesley University of Science and Technology

• Western Delta University


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *