States with Sharia Law in Nigeria

Sharia Law States in Nigeria

Nigeria though a secular state has sharia law inculcated in its constitution and judicial system.

Sharia states in Nigeria

A development which many critics has frowned at and described as violation of article 10 of Nigerian’s constitution which upholds freedom of religion.

Nigeria is a multi ethnic country made up of predominant Christians in South and Muslims in North.

Sharia law in operates only on state levels. Despite the views of propagators of the sharia law that it only serves the Muslims, many residents of other faith in states where sharia law are practiced in Nigeria has faced some confrontations and intimidation from sharia law police in Nigeria known as Hisbah.

The highest sharia court in Nigeria, Sharia court of appeal is recognized in Nigeria as one of the court of appeals in Nigeria’s judicial system.

The court specializes in review and decides on cases handled by other sharia courts in Nigeria.

Across the globe, reformers are of the opinion that sharia law is in contravention to the human rights charter of the united nations.

Sharia law was instituted in Nigeria in the year 1999.

Zamfara state is the first state in Nigeria where sharia law took off in the year 1999.

Not long after, Sharia spread to twelve (12) more states in Muslim dominant north Nigeria.

In this article, we will updating our readers with states in Nigeria with sharia laws.

These are states where sharia are practiced in Nigeria.

One of the significants of this post is that it will help keep visitors and tourists to the sharia states in Nigeria in the know about religion orientations of those state.

It will also add to body of knowledge especially for Nigerians who maybe unaware of the practice of the Islam canonical law in Nigeria.

States Where Sharia are Practiced in Nigeria

There are 12 states in Nigeria where sharia are practiced in Nigeria.

These states are all in northern Nigeria. It is important to note that sharia law does not apply to all states in northern Nigeria.

There are some states in northern Nigeria with predominant Muslims population and do not practice sharia.

Below are the sharia states in Nigeria.

  • Zamfara State
  • Kano State
  • Katsina State
  • Kebbi State
  • Sokoto State
  • Bauchi State
  • Borno State
  • Jigawa State
  • Gombe State
  • Kaduna State
  • Niger State
  • Yobe State

The above are sharia states in Nigeria. In recent time, the activities and enforcement of sharia by sharia police in Nigeria, Hisbah has gained more attention.

Notable amount the recent activity of Hisbah is the shaving of hairs of male Muslims deemed unislamic.

Also, in Kano state, one of the sharia states in Nigeria, ban was instituted on use of full bodied mannequins for sale of clothes and wears.

These are some of the most recent activities of sharia police that drew public attention in recent times.

Finally, visitors and travelers going to these sharia states in Nigeria, needs to get informed especially on how to conduct themselves while on visit or resident in these states where sharia operates in Nigeria.


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *