List of Universities in Enugu State

All Universities in Enugu State

Enugu State is home to six (6) government approved universities.

Universities in Enugu state

These universities in Enugu include both federal, state and private universities.

The federal government of Nigeria, made it a duty to see that atleast one federal university is established in each of the 36 states in Nigeria and federal capital territory.

Also, most states in Nigeria in a bid to improve tertiary education, in their respective states in Nigeria has been establishing state universities universities.

Private universities in Nigeria are very much prevalent.

These are universities neither owned by federal or state government.

In this article, we will center on list of all universities in Enugu state.

This post on universities in Enugu state will help in curbing the existence and operation of fake and unapproved universities in Nigeria and particularly Enugu state.

Below is the brief profile of all universities in Enugu state.

Federal University in Enugu State

University of Nigeria Nsukka (UNN)

The federal university in Enugu state, University of Nigeria, Nsukka is the only federal university existing and operating in Enugu state.

The university was the first autonomous & full – fledged indigenous university in Nigeria.

The university though was founded in 1955 but started operation in 1960.

The UNN has four (4) main campuses namely: Nsukka, Enugu, Ituku-Ozalla and Aba.

State University in Enugu State

Enugu State University of Science & Technology (ESUT)

ESUT is the only state owned university in Enugu state.

The institution of higher learning took off as Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH) until the creation of Enugu state from old Anambra in 1991.

ESUT has two (2) main campuses: Enugu campus and Agbani campus.

Private Universities in Enugu State

There are about four (4) private owned universities in Enugu state.

Below is the roll call of private universities in Enugu state.

Coal City University Enugu

This is one of the private universities operating in Enugu,Nigeria.

The university took off in 2016 and operates two campus at Independence Layout and Emene Enugu.

Caritas University, Enugu

Caritas University is a private and catholic university located at Amaorji Nike Enugu state.

The university was established in 2004 by Very Rev. Fr. Professor E.M.P Edeh.

It is government approved private university in Nigeria.

Renaissance University, Enugu

Renaissance university Enugu is government accredited private university located in Ugbawka, Enugu State.

The Enugu private university was established in 2005.

Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu

This a private university established for catholic diocese of Enugu by Very Reverend Father Professor Dr. Christian Anieke.

The university took off in 2009 after NUC approval and licensing. It is located at Nike-Enugu.


The Author

Emmanuel Igwenagu

Igwenagu Emmanuel is the founder of Nigerian Informer. He holds B.A, M.Sc in Mass Communication. He is a Communication researcher and 112 emergency help line dispatcher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *